Rockport Library Foundation Board of Directors

Ann Filley, President
Ann Filley has lived with her family in Rockport since 1998. Ann followed her love of books and libraries by getting her degree in Library and Information Services. She was the former Rockport Library Director, is a current member of the Library Committee and a board member of the Friends of the Rockport Library who can offer many insights on the importance of libraries in our communities.

John Viehman, Vice President 
John Viehman is an avid outdoor enthusiast who successfully bridged work and pleasure for 20 years as Editor & Publisher of BACKPACKER magazine and host of two award-winning PBS series, "Anyplace Wild" and "Trailside." He’s a longtime resident of the Midcoast and currently serves as President/Board Chair of United Midcoast Charities as well as board member of the Penobscot Bay Regional Chamber of Commerce and the Rockport Planning Board.

Joan Welsh,  Secretary
Joan Welsh has lived in Rockport for 24 years and represented Rockport, Camden and Islesboro in the Maine State Legislature from 2008 to 2016.  Previous to that she was Deputy Director for the Natural Resources Council of Maine, Director of Academic & Student Affairs for Rockport College (part of then Maine Photographic Workshops) and President/CEO of Hurricane Island Outward Bound. 

Bill Leone,  Treasurer
Bill Leone retired from a multi-unit home furnishing and design center in the Boston metro area. He founded the New England Home Furnishings Association and served as its first President. He also served as a director of the National Home Furnishings Association and the Merrimack Valley National Bank. Closer to home, he currently is a member of the Pen Bay YMCA Board, having served on the Task Force to develop the new YMCA Rockland Harbor facility. He has been a Rockport resident for over 20 years.

Peter Ralston co-founded the Island Institute in 1983, leaving it in 2010 to open Ralston Gallery in the old Corner Shop in Rockport. He has served on the Boards of many local and state organizations.

Cathy Monroe is a Certified Public Accountant recently retired from Masters, Fowlie, & Engelberg CPAs in Rockland. She served on the Rockport Library Committee from 2011 to 2016. Prior to a life in accountancy, Cathy was a children's book publisher and a school librarian. Books, libraries and access to knowledge are important themes in her life.